Something Going On

A poem I wrote for my wife Bameri after we first met. Hope you like it.

I

There’s something about the wind tonight.
Something I cannot explain.

There’s something about the wind playing
with the clouds hung outside, something
like the murmur of ancient secrets,
something like the heart of someone
lost in the streets of night.

There’s a man walking across the sky.
There’s a river running through the universe.
There’s something descending upon us,
something like rain, something like
the flood of tears and joy.

II

There’s certainly something about her,
something I cannot explain.

There’s something about her footprints
in my room, the lake in her eyes,
the boat I cannot ride.

Something is going on. I know there is.
I’m no longer young and vulnerable.
I am older and more hardened. So tell me,
sweet daughter of Jesus,
tell me white lies,
tell me the whole truth.
Build a fire in your garden and
tell me with columns of smoke,
tell me with smiles and a wet raincoat.
You can tell me with geraniums,
you can tell me with opium,
but tell me all I want to hear.

Send me a delegation of angels,
send me a word of love, and
I will show you bleeding roses,
of poems written by the fireside,
of mornings drunk with your face.

2 thoughts on “Something Going On

Leave a Reply

