Looking for a Reason

I’ve been away from blogging for quite a while. Want to share with you two compositions from earlier years. Wrote this song way back in early 1995. It was at a time of great personal dilemma and confusion. Four months later, I was surprised by joy, invaded by love, found by someone I had greatly disliked before that: Jesus. Read the lines of the next song as well: Everything Was Going To Be Okay which I wrote about 6 months later that year.
______________________________

Where does the wind blow?
Where does the river flow?
Why do people cry
When love affairs die?
Why is it hard for a memory to go?
I’m one of those who can’t find the answers
Searching for a way out of the water
My destiny is any old fool’s song or melody

See that bird in the sky
See the beasts of the wild
I wonder why we don’t have wings to fly?
Will I find a place
To rest my tired face
Sometimes you see life’s just a running race
I’m one of those who’s looking for a reason
I can’t understand my own emotions
When darkness falls all I ever do
Is write a line or two

When all of our dreams are made of gold
But reality is made of stone

Let the day disappear
And the let the moon appear
Somehow I can’t seem to shake away this fear
Let the summer rain
Wash away the pain
But let the beauty of a young girl’s face remain
And when the morning comes I’ll say another prayer
Asking the questions that don’t have an answer
And when the day is through
I don’t mind if I go back to being blue

I’m one of those who’s looking for a reason
I can’t understand my own emotions
When darkness falls all I ever do
Is write a line or two
_____________________

Everything was Going to be Okay

I had decided that I was never going to make it
I was so certain that I would never reach the other end
I thought my destiny was already written
I thought the melody was already broken

I ran away, and with the world outside I went to play
I couldn’t care if all that I did led to despair
When the darkness came I was only crying
When the pain descended I thought I was dying

Chorus One

But You came to pick me up
With Your kind words of love
You told me that everything was going to be okay
Then You took me by the hand
And forgiveness in Your voice
You gave me so many reasons to carry on
Praise the Lord my soul
My soul (x 3)
Praise the Lord my soul

So I’ll praise Your name
For You’ve been so merciful and true
As east is to west
You remove my sins away from me
As high as the heavens are above the earth
So great is Your love for sinners like me

Chorus Two

So You came to pick me up
With Your kind words of love
Now I’m sure that everything was going to be okay
When You took me by the hand
And when You made me understand
You are the greatest reason for me to carry on
Praise the Lord my soul
My soul (x 3)
Praise the Lord my soul

Chorus Two

Image courtesy: http://www.themahi.com/#!songwriting-masterclass/c1w9r

2 thoughts on “Looking for a Reason

Leave a Reply

