Dream of the Return

I had said I’m passionate about poetry and jazz. ‘Dream of the Return’ is one of my all-time favorites. It is a combination of astonishing poetry with great jazz. Here is jazz musician Pat Metheny collaborating with Pedro Aznar who wrote the song and performs the same in Spanish. Below is the English translation of the song/poem. Taken from Pat’s 1989 album Letter From Home. Listen to the song on YouTube @ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PoZH-0xgKwk
_______________

I tossed a poem to the sea
that took with it my questions and my voice
Like a slow ship it got lost in the spray

I asked it not to return
without having seen the open sea
and in dreams telling me of its visions.

Even if it didn’t return
I would know if it arrived.

Travel the whole life
on the blue calm or foundering in storms
little matters the way if some port awaits

I waited so long for the message
that I forgot to return to the sea
and thus I lost the poem
I cried to the heavens all my rancor
I finally found it written in the sand
like a prayer

The sea beat in my veins
and set my heart free

Leave a Reply

